The year is full of auspicious moments to begin new projects.

150901_untitled_56
Here in my home in the north eastern U.S., with my European cultural legacy, January first stands for a societal fresh start. Springtime to be in rhythm with the natural world. Perhaps a birthday for a more personal milestone. And then there is early autumn, with its back to school traditions that reflect the agricultural cycle, whose heaviest harvesting occurs in late summer. I always loved school, especially how those first few days of the semester felt heavy with any number of possible futures, and possible future selves, before the days had settled into a routine. So, this September first, I have donned a fresh new outfit, ignored the fluttering butterflies in my stomach, and written on the first page of this (virtual) notebook.

I hope that come next September, the pages will be full of a record of the interests, surprises, joys, and struggles that even a quiet life contains. I cannot yet promise exactly what form this notebook will take, but I am sure it will include photographs, knitting and other textile arts, questions on how to live a good life, everyday delights like a newly discovered favourite television show or the perfect sandwich, and, more than anything else, books. I have been bookish for as long as I can remember; it shapes everything about me.

I love how the internet encourages kindred spirits to find one another, hence why this is a virtual notebook, instead of a private one. Welcome to this space. I hope you’ll leave comments and tell me about your own spaces, so that I can return the visit.

32 thoughts on “September is for Beginnings

  1. This is a beautiful initiative. Here In Australia we are beginning Spring, the wattle is in bloom, the magpies are swooping in the park, children are wishing away the days till their September holidays. A season rich in possibilities

    1. Thank you Queen of the Park, especially for sharing your own experience of September! I had to do a google image search of wattle; what a beautiful yellow. How long is the September school holiday?

  2. Congrats on your new start, Eva! I love September and the possibilities it brings. Where I am we have over two months before it feels like fall (and school starts in April!) so I’ll be living vicariously through you. πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks Kazen! When I lived in Texas, September was the most difficult month, because I felt it should be fall, but I knew it wouldn’t start to cool off until November at the earliest. Although we’re off to an unseasonably warm start to the month here too; eek!

      I’m very fond of April, since it’s my birth month, but I can’t imagine beginning a school year during it. Funny how strong arbitrary cultural associations can be!

  3. A new season and a brave, fresh start. Well done, Eva. I, like Queenofthepark live in Australia, so like her, looking forward to a season of sunshine after a long cold winter. We’ve had the best of all days today with the news my beloved is cancer free after a battle and lots of treatment. So we are embracing love, health, happiness, life and all it has to offer. I look forward to reading more here and best of luck

  4. This looks lovely! I love that it’s finally September and time for tea and baking, quilts and reading in thick socks. Enjoy the season and your beginning!

    1. Thanks Bina! Glad to find another cold weather lover. We’re still having warm afternoons, but the mornings are cool enough now for a pot of tea, and it’s just the best way to start the day. And I think I’m going to make a batch of scones tomorrow morning, because I’m no longer horrified at the idea of turning on my oven. πŸ˜‰

    1. Thank you! And oh the stationary shopping of September. πŸ™‚ I had a pen addiction in my younger years, before arthritis made writing less enjoyable.

  5. Congratulations, Eva! I have spent so many pleasant hours following you at A sSriped Armchair and I think this new project is very exciting. September is the birth month of my son, husband and myself so a very special time for us. Greetings from Barcelona!

  6. I graduated college eight years ago, and September still feels like a fresh start to me! Even though in my current professional life, the time of year means absolutely nothing. πŸ˜‰ There’s just something about the weather changing (just a tiny bit, since I live in Florida, it just means a tiny bit less humidity!), kids in the neighborhood going back to school, all of that signals a milestone to me. I am excited to see your new space and looking forward to see what you make of it!

    1. We’re the same age, but I don’t think the school year calendar ever really goes away. After all, it shaped so much of our lives! I don’t miss the long summers of the south, although we’ve been having such a heat wave here that I feel I might as well be back in Texas. Hmph.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, if you have the time to share them.

