My chronic illnesses haveย  precluded me from much typing, or indeed thinking, this past week or so, hence my silence. However, I’ve been pondering using videos as well as written posts, so I thought I’d begin now with a bookish one!

150918_untitled_11Yesterday I was lucky enough to go to a marvelous library used book sale (for those who don’t know, libraries here in the US accept donations of books year-round, and once a year have a big sale of both those donated books and any books that will no longer be in circulation, run by volunteers) with Debi and Rich. We had great fun, and I ended up bringing home thirty-one books! They make satisfying stacks, as you can see in the photo.

I talk about them a bit more in the video below:

And here are two close ups of each stack, so that if any of the books caught your attention in the video, you can get the title and author to investigate further. I’ve kept them as large files, so you can click to enlarge. My apologies for not being able to type out a list for you; if for some reason you can’t view the photo, just leave a comment and I’ll reply with the specifics.

150918_untitled_12150918_untitled_14

Let me know if you’d enjoy watching videos in which I talk more in-depth (but still spoiler free or including warnings) about books I’ve been reading lately; it’s much easier for me to simply talk to my computer than type, so I’d be able to discuss more books using this format. Next week I plan to record a knitting-focused video, but the week after that I’ll be back to bookish content. I can either mainly discuss library books, like I used to do, or try out more ‘review style’ videos, depending on what interests you more.

21 thoughts on “Bookish Video: Library Sale Treasures

  1. It was fun to watch this and learn why you picked up those books! Oh and to finally see the covers of the Dodie Smiths! I do adore I Capture the Castle and also really liked The New Moon with the Old, which I read a few years ago but was coincidentally thinking about quite recently.
    I may have to consider buying it (and more) from Book Depository! Or maybe drop a big hint before Christmas! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Anyway I hope the two Dodies that you picked up are good reads! Let us know what you think of them!

  2. Great books! Since I’m very much interested in nonfiction I think I’m going to check into the two books about education. I’m German but it’s really no problem to get English titles from Amazon – you just have to know what to look for! And I have found that English speaking authors for nonfiction are more fun to read.
    Anyway I had to laugh when you talked about hoarding books and reading those from the library, same here ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one re: hoarding your own books! ๐Ÿ™‚ How interesting that you prefer English nonfiction; I try to add variety to my nonfiction reads but it’s much trickier to find translation nonfic than fic. And the latter is already tricky!

  3. This was fun to watch. I always enjoy hearing you talk about your books and I think that this format would be just fine for reviews or anything else you’d like to talk about. Especially on days where typing is troublesome. I’m a big Mary Stewart fan and have been for years and years. This Rough Magic is a good one, although I can’t remember the last time I read it. I did find recently that a few of Mary Stewart’s books have finally made their way to the e-book scene. I’m happy about it because my copies are old and the print is very, very small. Have a good week, Eva!

  4. Sheesh–even after Rich told you how smoking hot that gentleman on the cover of The Unicorn Hunt is, you’re still dissing him. ๐Ÿ˜›
    I can’t believe how many books you got that I didn’t even see! You found some absolute treasures!
    I read The Tales of ETA Hoffmann a few years back for homeschooling with Annie. Unsurprisingly (’cause, well, you know me), I was intimidated by it before I started it. But wow! how I loved that book! Hope you enjoy it too!
    Personally, I love your videos, and I absolutely think you should do more of them to help ease the load on your hands. And I think you should do videos of whatever inspires you–why not do both library loot-ish ones AND review ones. And anything else for that matter.
    I was a little disconcerted watching this–where were Thistle and Moth? Not like them to not make an appearance (i.e., politely demand some attention). ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh I should lend you to the Hoffman novella I have! You were too busy focusing on your own books. ๐Ÿ˜€ And Moth and Thistle were curled up in the chair near my desk, just the camera angle hides them.

  5. Hi Eva! Sorry that I have appeared to drop off of the earth. Please forgive me! I have a few of the books that you just found: “Possession” (I loved The Children’s Book, but haven’t read this one yet) and “The Game of Kings” and the companion book. Like you, I tend to hoard these library sale finds, although I have been getting little from the library lately and am trying to read some that I own. “The Game of Kings” seems to have intimidated me, and I haven’t touched it yet. When I found that one, I also found “The Unicorn Hunt,” and grabbed it too. I have had problems in the past six months or so with concentration (as well as physical issues) and thought it best not to tackle Dorothy Dunnett yet. You have brought her back to my attention–I need to give it a try.

    1. No need to apologise Laura; I understand how physical & other problems can somehow make time fly without noticing it. I hope you feel a bit better soon. I’d suggest you start with Niccolo Rising; so far this series is more accessible than the Lymond ones (there aren’t a ton of quotes in other languages, to start with! hehe). She’s great fun; my mom has begun that series and is a fan too.

      You’ll love Possession!

  6. Wow! That is a REALLY good library sale haul, not just in terms of the titles you found but they seem to be really nice editions in great condition.

    I’ve heard of Dunnett’s series before but as I am extremely selective about historical fiction, I’ve never considered reading it before… until now! Hearing you talk about them has definitely intrigued me, and I’m going to put them on my list of books to investigate.

    Finally, I love hearing your thoughts on books, whether it’s in a video or a written post. This is your new spaceโ€”create content however you like!

    1. Yep; it’s in one of the nicer areas of town!

      What are your historical fiction preferences? If you tell me, I could tell you more about Dunnett. ๐Ÿ™‚ She takes a very elaborate approach, but her characters feel true to their historical context, although they’re extraordinary, in the hero/ine mold. Also, her plotlines tend towards the melodramatic, but the worlds she creates are so sumptuous that the melodrama feels appropriate.

  7. Great books, Eva! I really enjoyed Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber – as you said, it deserves a second chance :). I think the video format is great, both for reviews and library hauls. And knitting videos would also be nice, since I am a beginner myself, and would welcome any tips on this lovely craft. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh I am happy to share whatever knitting advice you might desire! I’ve only been at it for two years myself, but I love it. I love Elizabeth Zimmerman’s advice to be fearless. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. So many Dorothy Dunnetts! If I saw them at a sale I couldn’t resits, if if i already have them all (is that selfish of me?). Loved your comment about Doddie Smith, how among bookish people I Captured the Castle is the most famous – you’re so right!

    Video format suits you well Eva, looking forward to the next installments.

  9. You got some great books! I really enjoy watching bookish videos and would love to see more from you. I recently started watching booktubers (at least I think that’s what the cool kids call them ha! ) on youtube and watching people talk about books on this kind of format is a fun change. Looking forward to your knitting video, I’m a terrible knitter but maybe it will inspire me to pick it up again ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts, if you have the time to share them.

